Confessions of a fashion addict and Buy Nothing New Month.

7 Oct

 

I have been following the Adbusters anti-consumption activist journey since my early uni-days. Their campaigns and culture jams are witty, productive, creative and informed. I participate in their “Buy Nothing Day” each year – not to have a tokenistic approach to consumption, but to use their campaign and information as a way to read, be an informed consumer and better understand the lifecycle and impact my purchase decisions have on our environment.  I frequently use the Adbusters resources in my Design and Technology classroom, I believe that better consumer choices will be enabled by clever and thoughtful design.

You can read more about Adbusters here: https://www.adbusters.org/campaigns/bnd

 

Two years ago I blogged and participated in the Buy Nothing New month which I am doing again this year. It is an Australian campaign that runs for the month of October: http://www.buynothingnew.com.au/.

 

I am a SELF CONFESSED FASHION ADDICT, I LOVE buying quirky, strange, on-trend clothes. Buy Nothing New month isn’t so much of a challenge as a lot of what I purchase is second hand and re-purposed. My SELF challenge from now on is to not only not buy anything new for October, but look at WHERE my clothes and fashion purchases COME FROM. How they are made? How are they manufactured, processed, dyed? What packaging does it come in? Is it necessary that I purchase it- WHO will its purchase support?

 

. . . a month of reflection that will start a longer journey! YOU can sign up to pledge to BUY NOTHING NEW for a month here: http://www.buynothingnew.com.au/

One Response to “Confessions of a fashion addict and Buy Nothing New Month.”

  1. missjessm October 8, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    I am sorry that I am no help in your mission! X

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,082 other followers

