Minties, Teachmeet ACU . . . and my love of Dr Suess

DR Suess is an ongoing inspiration of mine, I often use his quotes in class as a THEME or THOUGHT for a lesson/unit- students always respond in a positive way, many have fond and nonsensical memories of his books, but I always like to share other random Suess facts like:

  •  I admire HOW he once used his creativity for evil (advertising) . . .  then for good (cartoonist and writer)
  • His cartoons were often published and used as political propaganda, and he was seen as quite an activist 
  • When his cartoons became popular he later used his written voice to advocate against the racisim and discrimination of African Americans and Jews in America
  • He cleverly hides opinions and views of anti-discrimination, environmentalism AND anti consumerism WITHIN the story lines of his children’s books (think about it, WHO reads them to their kids! prime audience, what a bloody clever man!!)
  • Along with the morals within his stories the illustrations carefully acted as subliminal imagery . . . to the point where some books were considered too controversial for publication!
  • AND! the popularity of colours used within the books illustrations have earnt themselves their own PANTONE colour coding!! 🙂
Did YOU know that stuff?? . . . probably, you are pretty clever!!  🙂 hahaha
. . . ok! now to the MINTIES!!!!
Not only are minties YUMMY! there is that cheeky slogan “moments like these” – I could go on for HOURS about the advertising symbolism and history of minties, but simply- they are tasty. . . . in a tounge in cheek way I like to give them to students, not as a “bribe” but as a cheeky way of saying “Suck it up, have a mintie, work it out” 🙂 . . .the funny illustrations and discussion over a mouthful of mintie usually break a smile and work or whatever continues ! 🙂
Have you had many a mintie moment? . . . .teaching isn’t an easy profession. 

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

So you like TeachMeets do you !! What a journey of learning you have JUST embarked on!!

Thursday night was the FIRST Teachmeet held at a university. . . . it WENT OFF!! there was a queue at the door to get into the room !!  

I was in seriously good company, including some presentations from:

I really recommend you stalk/follow these guys. . . such passionate educators with lots of thoughts, knowledge and experience to share!
. . . AND !! how good were the pre-service teachers!! WOWZERS!!

I presented . . . well I THINK THAT’S WHAT YOU CALL IT?? hahaha

For  those that were there, sorry, and those that were not you missed out on:

  1. The hole in the back region of my skirt that I had been toting round since period 3
  2. My dismal technical effort, it blew my cover that I dont actually use my work email !!
  3. Close encounters with the stuffed dingo BEFORE my presentation started
  4. I think I swore?
Fun for all!! 🙂
– – – – – – > The POINT of my  PK was reflect on Suess-inspired topics such as:
  • “it’s fun to have fun but you have to know how” – – – ->  HOW can teachers have FUN when time is so poor? and learning is so serious??
  • “A persons a person no matter how small” – – – > the variety of learners and individuals in your care as teacher
  • They say I’m old fashioned and live in the past, but sometimes progress progresses too fast” – – – >  How will you make learning contextual and current as technology and social issues change?
Thank you to my twitter helpers!! Alex, Julie, Greg, Simon and Karla  . . . there were many more that shared thoughts, but I only had 7 mins!!
PREZI in its entirety HERE!!

http://prezi.com/bin/preziloader.swf

I feel so happy to be part of such a dynamic profession, surrounded by others who inspire me. . . .

Today was good, today was fun, tomorrow is another one!”  – – – -> HAVE A MINTIE!! 

 

 

– HUGE THANK YOU to Miriam Tanti and Leanne Cameron for hosting !  🙂

Leave a Reply

